NCH Healthcare System Announces 2006 Physician of the Year

NAPLES, FL (October 30, 2006) Hermes Koop, M.D. was named as the 2006 NCH Healthcare System Physician of the Year at the 47th Annual NCH Healthcare System Hospital Ball. Dr. Koop was selected from among eight candidates. Candidates are chosen by colleagues based on the highest standards of excellence in clinical care, patient and colleague relationships, ethical conduct, and commitment to the community. Allen Weiss, M.D., President and CEO of NCH Healthcare System, and Jeff McCarthy, M.D. presented the award.

Hermes Koop, M.D., is a Diplomate of the American Board of Internal Medicine and Critical Care Medicine. Dr. Koop has served as President of the Medical Staff since 2001, and chairs the Medical Executive Committee. He is also a member of the Board of Trustees. Dr. Koop graduated from the University of Texas Medical Branch at Galveston, joining the NCH Healthcare System medical staff 13 years ago. He is married to Joan Koop, and they have four children – three 16 year-old triplet sons and one 15 year-old daughter.

Other honorees include:

Albert Alessi, M.D., Board Certified in Family Practice. Dr. Alessi chairs the North Campus Medical Executive Committee, and serves as preceptor for medical students from Nova Southwestern University.

James Boorstin, M.D., Chairman of the Department of Psychiatry. Dr. Boorstin is a retired Naval Captain, Naval Aviator, and Flight Surgeon, and is a volunteer Associate Medical Examiner. He volunteers his time and expertise to persons recovering from substance abuse and mental illness within Collier County.

Gary Colon, M.D., Board Certified Neurosurgeon. Dr. Colon has been an active member of the Operating Room Committee and the Professional Credentialing Committee.

Patrick Kane, M.D., Board Certified Otolaryngologist. Dr. Kane recently participated in outcome research for pediatric and adult tonsillectomies with the American Academy of Otolaryngology through Duke University. He has been elected to “Best Doctors of America” for more than five consecutive years.

Daniel Kaplan, D.O., Board Certified in Family Practice and Geriatric Medicine. Dr. Kaplan is Chairman of the NCH Department of Family Practice, and Medical Education Director for the Nova University medical student program at NCH.

John Nolan, M.D., Board Certified in Anesthesia. Dr. Nolan has served as Chief of the Anesthesia Department, and member of the Medical Executive Committee, and has been actively involved in teaching.

Carolyn Walters, M.D., Board Certified in Family Medicine and Emergency Medicine. Dr. Walters chairs the Department of Emergency Medicine at North Collier Hospital, and serves on the Medical Executive Committee and the Quality Committee of the Board of Trustees.

With the theme “The Secret Garden,” the 2006 ball was the most successful to date. More than $600,000 was raised for an expanded pediatric unit, including a new pediatric intensive care unit. The new unit will be located on the third floor of the Jay and Patty Baker Patient Tower at NCH North Naples Hospital.

More than 500 people attended the ball, which included a live and silent auction, dinner, and dancing to the sounds of “Paradise.” A dedicated committee of 43, along with 50 volunteers worked for several months to make the 2006 NCH Healthcare System Hospital Ball an unprecedented success. For more information, contact the NCH Foundation at (239) 436-4511